The Sport Of Cricket

cricket field

A brief description of cricket

A cricket is a national sport which is played between two groups of 11 players of each side. In the 16th century the game was started in England. Grassy ground is called a pitch which length has 22 yards is called wicket. Each team has one main caption who takes the important decisions like, batting or fielding after the toss, fielding arrangement, bowling spells etc. both team has mixture combination of players like, some who specialize at bowling, some at batting, some at fielding. Both teams have one wicket keeper who stands behind the stumps in order to collect ball. Three wooden sticks are called stumps which are placed at the end of 22 yards. Stumps are opposite to each other and separated by gap than the diameter of cricket ball. There are two smaller sticks which is called “bails” are placed on the stumps of both side. Some white marks also draw by the chalk near the stumps which is called “crease”. Two umpires are known as referee of the game.

The game length can vary in number of balls bowled and duration of time. Each team has two main captains who take important decisions like, batting or bowling after winning the toss, fielding arrangement, who will bowl first etc. one side will bat first and other side will bowl. Both batsmen equipped with their own bat play in pairs at the end of the wicket.

The main objective of bowling team is dismiss the batsmen as early as possible while batting side objective is to score the optimal number of runs. Once the whole process is complete the roles of teams is reversed. The reversal may happen in limited over’s cricket, one day or twice in international test or county cricket.

Runs can be score in many ways like single, doubles, triple, four and sixes. If bowl directly touches the rope then it called six and after one tip it’s called four runs. While on the other hand batsmen can also dismiss in a number of ways like, bowled out, catch out, run out, and stump out, LBW etc.

There are three game structures in cricket such as, Test cricket, one day and Twenty-20. In test cricket game has two innings while one day and twenty-20 cricket has certain amount of over’s per innings.

Rules of cricket

Both teams are made up of 11 players however 12th man is called reserve players who is not allowed to bat or ball.12th man is also called substitute fielder. Apart from 2 umpires on the field there is also 3rd umpire who give their decision when 2 on field umpire fails to do so. When 2 on field umpire fails to give right decision they refer it to the third umpire who review the replay video in slow motion and make final decision.

A No ball

If Balls is bowled by the blower from the wrong place, more than 2 bouncers, over stepping; over the west height etc. batsman can do more runs on no ball because except run out he/she cannot be given out by the 2 on field umpires.

A wide ball

Wide ball is declared when batsman did not have enough opportunity to score.

A leg Bye

When runs are made by hitting the batsman but not by the bat is called leg bye. The actual delivery is not declared wide or no ball.


According to cricket rules if bowl is hits the batsman’s wicket batsman will be given out.


According to cricket rules if ball touches batsman gloves, bat handle and catch is taken by the bowler, fielders or wicket keeper without any bounces then batsman will be caught out

Leg before wicket

If bowl is hits on the pad of batsman without touches bat then LBW decision is possible. However before giving the decision umpire assess some factors according to cricket rules like, if ball pitches outside off and let stumps, if batsman caught in front of the wicket etc.

A bye Ball is not wide or no ball but batsman can score run without hitting the ball.

Hit wicket

If batsman hits the stumps with his bat then he will be given out.

Obstructing on the field

Batsman can be out if he obstructing the opposition by action or word of mouth.

Hit the ball twice

Batsman will be given out if he hits a ball twice for the purpose of protecting wicket.


If batsman standing out of his crease and wicket keeper puts down his wicket he can be given out.